World Darts Championship: What time does the World Darts Championship start tonight?

World Darts Championship: Fallon Sherrock reacts to defeat

World Darts Championship returns to our television screens for the 2020/2021 campaign this week. Peter Wright will be hoping to retain the Sid Waddell Trophy at Alexandra Palace. What time does the action get underway?

Darts fans have been forced to wait a full year for the return of the World Darts Championship.

Last year, Peter Wright claimed his first-ever World Championship, after beating Michael van Gerwen in the grand final.

But, the year ultimately belonged to social media sensation Fallon Sherrock.

She became the first female player to win a match at the World Championship – and would ultimately make it to Round 3.

READ MORE: World Darts Championship – TV channel, live stream, schedule

What time is the World Darts Championship tonight?

The darts gets underway from 6pm on Tuesday December 15.

This evening’s fixtures will see Steve West taking on Amit Gilitwala, as well as Steve Beaton vs Diogo Portela.

The winner of West vs Gilitwala will then play reigning champion Wright before the end of the night.

Elsewhere, Jeff Smith will be locking horns with Keane Barry in the first round.

Barry Hearn hits out as fans are banned from World Darts Championship [QUOTES]
Michael van Gerwen blames shower with wife for back injury [LATEST]
World Darts Championship at Ally Pally: How many people can attend? [EXPLAINER]

How to watch the World Darts Championship

The competition will be broadcast exclusively by Sky Sports Darts in the UK.

The entire tournament will be shown live from December 15 until January 3.

How to live stream the World Darts Championship

Existing Sky Sports customers will be able to live stream the competition by using the Sky Go app.

If you don’t have a Sky Sports subscription, you can still watch the World Darts Championship by buying a Sky Sports pass through NOW TV.

This year’s World Darts Championship winner could in for a hefty pay package.

The winner’s prize money currently stands at £500,000; the same as last year.

The runner-up is set to earn £200,000, with prize winnings continually filtered down throughout the rounds.

In total, £2.5million will be shared among the competitors for the 2020/2021 tournament.

Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor currently holds the record for most World Darts Championship titles.

He won the competition 14 times throughout his career, while finishing runner-up on five previous occasions.

Michael van Gerwen is second in the all-time winners’ list, having won the trophy on three prior years.

Van Gerwen is currently the favourite to win the World Darts Championship, with Gerwyn Price the second-favourite.

Source: Read Full Article