KSI’s knockout of Joe Fournier overturned on appeal after elbow controversy

  • Bookmark
  • Offbeat news from the world of sport

    We have more newsletters

    KSI's knockout win over Joe Fournier has officially been overturned to a no decision.

    The YouTuber-turned-professional boxer continued his rise through the ranks by knocking his 40-year-old opponent out in the second round of their bout at the OVO Arena, Wembley.

    However, footage showed that KSI in fact missed with his hook and landed an elbow on his opponent, which sent him crashing to the canvas.

    READ MORE: Mido weighed more than Tyson Fury after retirement before body transformation

    The referee missed the illegal strike and Fournier suffered a defeat after failing to beat the count. Yet Fournier immediately made it clear that he intended to appeal the result on Monday, which he has now been successful in doing.

    The PBA, who sanctioned the MAY 13 bout, invited both sides to make their cases over the controversial knockout. Their review concluded on Friday that the result will no longer stand as a win or a loss for either fighter.

    Do you think a no contest was the right decision? Let us know in the comments section.

    Their statement read: "Today, on 19th May 2023 Mr Joe Fournier and KSI were advised of a ‘Reviewed Decision’ that was undertaken by Mr Gareth Morris, the referee in charge of the bout on Saturday 13th May 2023 at the OVO Arena, Wembley, London, United Kingdom.

    "Mr Fournier had submitted a protest and KSI responded following KSI’s Technical Knockout win in the second round of the fight.

    "After a thorough review of the evidence and representations, along with the assistance of Mr Micky Vann (the Supervisor in charge) and an eminent Barrister (Mr Gul Nawaz Hussain KC of 33 Bedford Row Chambers, London) where necessary, Mr Morris came to an independent decision.

    "Even though KSI was winning the fight, the blow with the forearm/elbow has been found to be accidental and the obvious disappointment that will follow, it has been decided that the contest is declared a No Decision in accordance with the Rules.

    "The PBA has conducted the review properly, fairly and with legal assistance throughout as the bout was sanctioned and regulated under the unified rules of boxing.

    "We have ensured that this process was conducted swiftly and fairly to uphold the integrity of boxing."


    • Floyd Mayweather turned down $750,000 offer from 50 Cent to read Harry Potter book
    • Ebanie Bridges' sauciest snaps ever – from weigh-in jaw-dropper to risking Instagram ban
    • Francis Ngannou says he's the 'baddest on the planet' after UFC great signs with PFL
    • Ksi
    • Boxing
    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • YouTube

    Source: Read Full Article