Lightning 2020 Stanley Cup champions: How they handed off the Stanley Cup

Hey, it’s 2020, so why not do things a little differently?

Unlike previous years when the captain goes by himself to meet NHL commissioner Gary Bettman, shakes his hand, smiles for the cameras and picks up the Stanley Cup, the Lightning as a group surrounded Bettman as he stood next to the greatest trophy in all of sports.

It was a fitting way to mark the end of bubble hockey: That after weeks of being isolated and advancing through grueling series after grueling series, it came down to one thing — the team.

But while they did one thing a tad differently, the Lightning stuck to one tradition that should never be changed — handing off the Cup from teammate to teammate.

Here’s a quick look at how the Stanley Cup was handed off after the Lightning won the 2020 Stanley Cup:

Steven Stamkos, captain

Victor Hedman, assistant captain and Conn Smythe winner

Brayden Coburn

Ryan McDonagh, assistant captain

Alex Killorn

Luke Schenn

Zach Bogosian

Pat Maroon

Nikita Kucherov

Andrei Vasilevskiy

Ondrej Palat

Tyler Johnson

Brayden Point

Kevin Shattenkirk

Cedric Paquette

Yanni Gourde

Curtis McElhinney

Barclay Goodrow

Blake Coleman

Erik Cernak

Anthony Cirelli

Mikhail Sergachev

Mitchell Stephens

Alexander Volkov

Jan Rutta 

Carter Verhaeghe

Mathieu Joseph

Kyle Wedgewood

Source: Read Full Article