MotoGP 2020 calendar: 13-round race schedule announced with four further races to be confirmed

MotoGP has confirmed a new 2020 calendar to kick off on 19 July, featuring a minimum of 13 races with four more set to be confirmed.

The European-based calendar will depend heavily on Spain, with four circuits set to be used within one of the worst-hit countries by coronavirus – including double-headers at Jerez, Aragon and Valencia.

However, with Spain in recovery from the Covid-19 outbreak and a large number of teams and riders based there across MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3, the country will be used for seven of the 13 confirmed races.

Download the new Independent Premium app

Sharing the full story, not just the headlines

The season will get underway at Jerez on the weekend of 17-19 July, with the second round of the season also taking place at the Angel Nieto circuit in Andalucia.

A visit to Brno in the Czech Republic on 9 August will be followed by the second double-header at the Red Bull Ring in Austria, which is also due to hold two Formula One races in a similar format this year. The two events will take place on 16 and 23 August, before Misano holds two races in mid-September to mark the halfway point in the European leg.

Barcelona will start the second half of the campaign with a lone race on 27 September, with Le Mans also included for the French Grand Prix on 11 October before a four-round Spanish leg ends the provisional calendar, with two races in Aragon followed by two more in Valencia.

However, MotoGP organisers Dorna have also left the door open for four more rounds outside of Europe to be scheduled later in the year, should the situation surrounding the coronavirus pandemic allow them to take place. The US’s Circuit of the Americas, Argentina’s Termas de Rio Hondo, Thailand’s Chang International Circuit and Sepang in Malaysia will all be considered as potential race hosts, with a decision to be confirmed by the end of July.

MotoGP 2020 calendar

19 July: Spanish Grand Prix (Jerez)

26 July: Andalusian Grand Prix (Jerez)

9 August: Czech Republic Grand Prix (Brno)

16 August: Austrian Grand Prix (Red Bull Ring)

23 August: Styrian Grand Prix (Red Bull Ring)

13 September: San Marino Grand Prix (Misano)

20 September: Grand Prix of Rimini (Misano)

27 September: Catalunya Grand Prix (Barcelona)

11 October: French Grand Prix (Le Mans)

18 October: Aragon Grand Prix (Motorland Aragon)

25 October: Teruel Grand Prix (Motorland Aragon)

8 November: European Grand Prix (Valencia)

15 November: Valencia Grand Prix (Valencia)


American Grand Prix (Circuit of the Americas)

Argentine Grand Prix (Termas de Rio Hondo)

Thailand Grand Prix (Chang International Circuit)

Malaysian Grand Prix (Sepang International Circuit)

Source: Read Full Article