NRL’s drastic ban after Dally M scandal

The NRL has banned betting on the Dally M Awards following the scandal involving the 2019 coach of the year award, likely forcing bookies to refund thousands of dollars.

It comes after police charged the chief executive and general manager of a Sydney sports software company with using inside knowledge of last year’s event to successfully back Melbourne coach Craig Bellamy to win.

It’s understood the NRL wrote to bookmakers on Thursday to advise them the Australian Rugby League Commission had ordered there be no betting on this year’s Dally M Awards.

Sportsbet, the NRL’s official betting partner, quickly closed its markets. Betting opened before the season started and markets included Dally M player of the year in which Roosters fullback James Tedesco was favourite to win back-to-back medals.

A statement on the company’s website read: “Due to governing body regulations, NRL Dally M Markets will no longer be offered for the 2020 season.”

The NRL integrity unit originally notified police on suspicious betting activity on the coach of the year award last year.

Craig Bellamy was awarded Coach Of The Year Award winner during the 2019 Dally M Awards.Source:News Corp Australia

Late last month Josh Wilson, 29, and Ben Trevisiol, 31, were arrested by New South Wales Police who allege they knew in advance the winner of the coach of the year award.

They then allegedly used that knowledge to successfully bet on Bellamy, who was not the favourite, and passed on the information to others who did the same. Wilson and Trevisiol worked for StatEdge, a company contracted by the NRL to provide the results of the awards.

It’s believed bets as large as $10,000 were placed.

“Police will allege in court that the men placed bets on the 2019 Dally M Coach of the Year Award winner with prior knowledge of the result,” NSW Police said in a statement.

“It will also be alleged that they shared information with other individuals, who in turn placed bets with various betting agencies.”

The pair are due to appear at Downing Centre Local Court on August 20.

Bellamy was given the award on the back of the Storm’s minor premiership win where the club finished six points clear on top of the ladder. However, the Storm had already been eliminated from the NRL finals series when he was presented with the award in grand final week.

Manly’s Des Hasler, Canberra’s Ricky Stuart and Parramatta’s Brad Arthur were touted as favourites to received the Coach of the Year award.

It was the fifth time Bellamy had been awarded the honour.


Source: Read Full Article