Queensland pick teenage debutant in huge Origin II selection gamble

Queensland is making one of the biggest gambles in the history of the State of Origin concept by selecting Warriors teenager Reece Walsh for Game 2.

After being belted in the series opener by NSW, coach Paul Green has also axed several stars.

Walsh has played just a handful of NRL games, but has been picked ahead of Valentine Holmes to wear the No. 1 jumper, pushing the Cowboys star to the wing.

Holmes’ move has seen Broncos star Xavier Coates axed.

The Broncos have had some good news with the return of wrecking ball forward Josh Papalii, but the rest of the news is troubling for Maroons supporters.

Storm No. 9 Harry Grant has failed to prove his fitness and has been left out of the squad. Veteran rake Andrew McCullough will return to the team. McCullough is the third string hooker for Queensland with Eels star Reed Mahoney also unavailable due to injury.

Francis Molo has also been picked in the No. 17 jumper to make his Origin debut.

As expected, Titans star David Fifita has been dropped to the bench.

Coen Hess and Ronaldo Mulitalo have been selected as the emergency players who will join the Queensland camp.

Ben Hunt has kept his spot as the utility player to come off the bench.

Official Queensland team for Game 2

1. Reece Walsh – New Zealand Warriors

2. Valentine Holmes – North Queensland Cowboys

3. Kurt Capewell – Penrith Panthers

4. Dane Gagai – South Sydney Rabbitohs

5. Kyle Feldt – North Queensland Cowboys

6. Cameron Munster – Melbourne Storm

7. Daly Cherry-Evans – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

8. Christian Welch – Melbourne Storm

9. Andrew McCullough – St George Illawarra Dragons

10. Josh Papalii – Canberra Raiders

11. Jai Arrow – South Sydney Rabbitohs

12. Felise Kaufusi – Melbourne Storm

13. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui – Gold Coast Titans

14. Ben Hunt – St George Illawarra Dragons

15. Moeaki Fotuaika – Gold Coast Titans

16. David Fifita – Gold Coast Titans

17. Francis Molo – North Queensland Cowboys

18. Coen Hess – North Queensland Cowboys

19. Ronaldo Mulitalo – Cronulla Sutherland Sharks

Source: Read Full Article