FIFA Puskas award: Balotelli's audacious rabona leads nominations

Mario Balotelli’s audacious rabona in Turkey, Polish amputee Marcin Oleksy’s sensational scissor kick and Alessia Russo’s outrageous backheel in the Euros semi-final are nominated for FIFA’s Puskas award for the best goal of 2022

  • There are 11 sensational strikes up for the FIFA Puskas award for the best goal 
  • Mario Balotelli scored a ridiculous rabona for Turkish side Adana last year
  • Alessia Russo’s memorable backheel in the Euros semi-final is also nominated 
  • The winner will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards later this year

Mario Balotelli’s audacious rabona leads the nominees for the highly prestigious FIFA Puskas award which will be given to the scorer of the best goal of 2022.

There are 11 sensational strikes to choose between and the winner will be crowned at The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony later this year, where the winner of the best men’s player and best women’s player awards will also be announced.

This year’s nominations follow on from Erik Lamela’s incredible rabona in the north London derby which was crowned the best goal of 2021.

Mario Balotelli’s audacious rabona for Turkish side Adana is one of 11 nominees for the Puskas award

Ex-Manchester City star Balotelli, who now plays for Turkish side Adana, has continued the rabona trend with an exceptional strike back in May last year.

The Italian had already scored four goals in the fixture before embarking on another run, beating the defender with a series of stepovers and firing home across goal with a rabona. 

Balotelli’s strike will be hard to beat but there is an array of top drawer goals shortlisted, including Polish amputee Marcin Oleksy’s sensational scissor kick for Warta Poznan.

His incredible athleticism and skill sent his team-mates wild and clips of the strike soon went viral.

Lionesses’ forward Alessia Russo scored an incredible backheel goal through the legs of a Sweden defender and goalkeeper in the Euros semi-final

Olesky represented Poland in the 2022 Amputee World Cup, helping his team reach the last-16 before they were knocked out by Brazil.

There are no separate divisions between men and women for the Puskas award and Alessia Russo’s audacious backheel for the Lionesses in the Euro 2022 semi-final has made the cut.

It was a moment of brilliance from the Manchester United forward who somehow conjured an extraordinary piece of skill to nutmeg Sweden goalkeeper Lindahl to help England reach the final – which they would go on to win.

The prize is named after the legendary Hungarian striker Ferenc Puskas – who was famous for his sensational strikes.

Also vying for this year’s prize are Kylian Mbappe and Richarlison for their World Cup strikes.

Mbappe won the Golden Boot in Qatar, netting eight times, but the goal nominated is his equaliser against Argentina in which he met Marcus Thuram’s lofted pass with a clinical volley past Emi Martinez to send the game to extra-time.

Many will also remember Richarlison’s incredible acrobatic strike against Serbia at the World Cup.

After controlling Vinicius Jr’s cross with his left foot, the Brazilian swivelled his body and fired home, leaving Vanja Milinkovic-Savic helpless in goal.

Dimitri Payet’s thunderous edge of the box strike for Marseille is also up for the award, as is Theo Hernandez’s length of the pitch run and finish against Atalanta.

Amandine Henry’s 30-yard bullet strike for Lyon Women’s, Salma Paralluelo’s curling screamer for Villarreal Women’s and Francisco Gonzalez Metilli’s thumping volley for Central Cordoba are also challenging for the top prize.

The final nomination comes from Alou Kuol, whose scorpion goal for Australia U-23 left many speechless.

FIFA will also crown the best men’s and women’s players, coaches and goalkeepers as well as the best fan at the awards.


Mario Balotelli (Italy): Adana Demirspor v. Göztepe Spor Kulübü [Süper Lig] (22 May 2022)

Amandine Henry (France): FC Barcelona v. Olympique Lyonnais [UEFA Women’s Champions League] (21 May 2022)

Théo Hernández (France): AC Milan v. Atalanta Bergamasca Calcio, [Serie A] (15 May 2022)

Alou Kuol (Australia): Iraq U23 v. Australia U23 [AFC U23 Asian Cup] (4 June 2022)

Kylian Mbappé (France): Argentina v. France [FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™] (18 December 2022)

Francisco González Metilli (Argentina): Club Atlético Central Córdoba v. Club Atlético Rosario Central [Primera División] (1 August 2022)

Marcin Oleksy (Poland): Warta Poznań v. Stal Rzeszów [PZU Amp Futbol Ekstraklasa] (6 November 2022)

Salma Paralluelo (Spain): FC Barcelona v. Villarreal CF [Liga F] (2 April 2022)

Dimitri Payet (France): Olympique de Marseille v. PAOK Thessaloniki FC [UEFA Europa Conference League] (7 April 2022)

Richarlison (Brazil): Brazil v. Serbia [FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022] (24 November 2022)

Alessia Russo (England): England v. Sweden [UEFA Women’s EURO 2022] (26 July 2022)

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article