Gary Lineker wished for new handball rule four years ago that’s killing the game

Match of the Day host Gary Lineker pleaded for the current handball rule four years ago, though has now criticised the law.

There have already been a number of penalties awarded this season for what seems to be ball to hand rather than deliberate handball.

Tottenham conceded a late spot-kick against Newcastle after Andy Carroll headed the ball onto Eric Dier’s arm with Crystal Palace also hit by a controversial call this weekend.

Lineker previously wanted the rule put in place, writing back in January 2016: “It’s time they changed the handball law.

“Make it that every time it strikes a hand/arm it’s a free kick/penalty regardless of intent.”

Though Lineker has gone against his previous views now the rule appears to be in play.

He posted on Sunday following more handball controversy: “Ludicrous. Utterly ludicrous law exacerbated by VAR. Can we have our game back please?”

Steve Bruce’s Newcastle benefitted from the call on Sunday though Magpies boss admitted the call was “total nonsense”.

Bruce told Sky Sports: "I can understand why Spurs will go berserk and [Crystal Palace boss] Roy Hodgson reacted like he did.

  • Jamie Carragher in epic rant at handball after Spurs vs Newcastle controversy

“It is a total nonsense, we should be jumping through hoops but I would be devastated if that was us.

“Maybe Roy is right, maybe we all need to get together. The decisions are ruining the spectacle. We have to get together as managers and say this must stop.

"If our goalkeeper didn't play as well first half they would have been out of sight. Second half we were better and posed a bit of a threat. Our goalkeeper has got us a point and a decision that went our way."

Get the latest transfer news straight into your inbox!

Want to be on the ball with Jadon Sancho to Manchester United updates? Or perhaps you're a Chelsea fan wondering who on earth could join next?

Well then sign up for the brilliant new Daily Star Sport email newsletter!

From the latest transfer news to the agenda-setting stories, get it all in your email inbox.

How do you sign up?

It only takes a matter of seconds.

Simply type your email address into the box at the top of this article and hit 'subscribe'.

And that's it, job done. You'll receive an email with all of the top news stories every single morning.

You can find out more information on our email newsletter on this link here.

Tottenham boss Jose Mourinho did not want to comment on the incident, with Callum Wilson scoring the penalty, for fear of being fined.

He said: “I don’t think, I think about my team’s performance.

"If I have to give some money away, I want to give to charity… I don't want to give it to the FA.”

Source: Read Full Article