Manchester City win best men's team award at the 2023 Ballon d'Or

Manchester City win best men’s team award at the 2023 Ballon d’Or after their stunning treble winning season as Barcelona clinch women’s best club award after winning women’s Champions League and Liga F

  • Man City win best men’s team at the 2023 Ballon d’Or after treble season
  • Barcelona women won best women’s side after outstanding 2022-23 campaign 

Manchester City have clinched the best men’s team award at the Ballon d’Or following their treble winning season. 

It came as no surprise after Pep Guardiola’s side were by far the best team in Europe and the Premier League last season. 

While the Spanish manager was not in attendance to accept the award, several members of the squad, who have also been included as nominees for the best men’s award, were there to accept the award. 

Rodri, Bernardo Silva, Julian Alvarez, Erling Haaland, Ederson and Ruben Dias were all in attendance at the awards ceremony. 

Accepting the award, the club’s CEO, Ferran Soriano, said: ‘We are very proud. Every body at Manchester City are very proud. We enjoyed a very good season. But this is not the product of one season.

‘We are here because of these extraordinary players and our coaches and football director. But behind there is a lot of people working behind the scenes. And it’s a decade of work. 

On the evening, Bernardo Silva added: ‘The five players in the top 10 [shows] a sign of the work that all of us together have been doing is great. We have the motivation to keep pushing ourselves to be better.’

It came just before Haaland claimed the Gerd Muller Trophy for Best Striker, with Gary Lineker presenting the Man City forward the award.  

Barcelona women’s team were recognised as the women’s team-of-the-year, with president Joan Laporta receiving the award on behalf of the club alongside midfielder Patricia Guijarro. 

It came after an exceptional season where the women’s side won their second Champions League title in the space of three years, having also clinched their fourth successive Liga F title too. 

Jonatan Giráldez’s side have enjoyed a truly dominant few years in their domestic league, winning 62 league games on the bounce, a run which started June 6, 2021. 

More to follow… 

Source: Read Full Article