Premier League handball rule to be ‘softened’ after weekend of controversy

Don’t wait 30 years – sign up for our daily football email newsletter today!

The handball rule in the Premier League is reportedly set to be eased following another weekend of controversy.

Tottenham and Crystal Palace were the victims of harsh penalty calls in the recent weekend with Jose Mourinho and Roy Hodgson understandably not pleased.

Eric Dier saw the ball hit his hand from Andy Carroll’s header while Joel Ward had a similar thing from Lucas Digne.

They were the latest of plenty of handball controversies this season with the Premier League season being just three weeks old.

Though the Telegraph claim that the rule will be ‘softened’ with referees set to be asked to be more realistic in their interpretation of what is a “unnatural bigger” body position.

It’s claimed there are no plans to scrap the law with the Dier handball still set to have led to a penalty.

Though Everton would not have been awarded a spot-kick against Joel Ward as his arm was not “unnaturally bigger”.

Dier’s handball would still constitute an offence because his arm was raised above shoulder level, which is now identified as an offence.

Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp would still disagree with the new ruling with Dier having been so close to Carroll.

  • Jamie Carragher in epic rant at handball after Spurs vs Newcastle controversy

Klopp said: "We all agree that Eric Dier did not do anything wrong and it as a penalty.

“You cannot control your body in that way have to move somehow, only thing to do is cut arms off.

“Even the referees are not happy with the rule and I am not happy how long we wait for the offsides.

“Some rules changes did not help so far but in the moment we have to accept it."

  • Premier League
  • Arsenal FC
  • Aston Villa FC
  • Brighton Hove Albion FC
  • Burnley FC
  • Chelsea FC
  • Crystal Palace FC
  • Everton FC
  • Leeds United FC
  • Liverpool FC
  • Leicester City FC
  • Manchester United FC
  • Manchester City FC
  • Newcastle United FC
  • Fulham FC
  • West Bromwich Albion FC
  • West Ham FC
  • Wolves FC
  • Tottenham Hotspur FC
  • Southampton FC
  • Sheffield United FC

Source: Read Full Article