Six-man PFA Player of the Year shortlist announced for 2019/20 award

Trent Alexander-Arnold has been nominated by his fellow pros for both Professional Footballers’ Association awards.

Liverpool full back Alexander-Arnold is among the six nominations for the senior Player of the Year and also Young Player after his remarkable season in the club’s title-winning success.

Alexander-Arnold, 21, is the only player to make the shortlist for both after he scored four goals and provided 13 assists from the right back slot.

But Alexander-Arnold faces stiff competition from his team mates as FOUR Liverpool players are nominated for the senior award.

Virgil van Dijk, Jordan Henderson and Sadio Mane are also nominated while Manchester City ’s Raheem Sterling and Kevin De Bruyne make up the six strong short list.

Liverpool skipper Henderson will be hoping for a clean sweep after already winning the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year award.

Man Utd duo Mason Greenwood and Marcus Rashford, Chelsea pair Tammy Abraham and Mason Mount together with Arsenal ’s Bukayo Saka make up the PFA’s Young Player shortlist.

Chelsea also dominate the women’s list with four nominations including Beth England, Sophie Ingle, Guro Reiten and Ji So-Yun plus Arsenal pair Kim Little and Vivianne Miedema.

The awards will be announced on Tuesday when they are broadcast on the PFA’s social channel from 7pm.

The PFA Awards will be broadcast on Tuesday 8th September, 7pm on the PFA’s Social Channels, more details to follow. Players must have been aged 21 or under at the beginning of the season (1st July 2019).

The full nomination list is:

Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year – Nominees:

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)

Sadio Mané (Liverpool)

Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

Women’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year – Nominees:

Beth England (Chelsea)

Sophie Ingle (Chelsea)

Kim Little (Arsenal)

Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)

Guro Reiten (Chelsea)

Ji So-Yun (Chelsea)

Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year – Nominees:

Tammy Abraham (Chelsea)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Mason Greenwood ( Manchester United )

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)

Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

Women’s PFA Young Player of the Year – Nominees:

Erin Cuthbert (Chelsea)

Lauren Hemp (Manchester City)

Lauren James (Manchester United)

Chloe Kelly (Manchester City formerly Everton )

Ellie Roebuck (Manchester City)

Georgia Stanway (Manchester City)

Sign up to the Mirror Football email here for the latest news and transfer gossip.

Source: Read Full Article