Cricket minnows qualify for the T20 World Cup

Uganda qualify for the T20 World Cup in miracle result with cricket minnows set to rub shoulders with Australia, England and India in the US and West Indies in 2024 

  • Uganda have qualified for the T20 World Cup 
  • They have displaced Zimbabwe at the tournament 
  • Uganda will rub shoulders with the biggest names 

Uganda will be rubbing shoulders with the likes of Jos Buttler and Glenn Maxwell  after securing its place in a global cricket tournament for the first time after beating Rwanda in African qualifying for next year’s T20 World Cup.

The country of 50 million in East Africa got into the expanded 20-team competition, being co-hosted by the West Indies and the United States in June, at the expense of Zimbabwe – an established cricketing nation.

Uganda defeated Zimbabwe by five wickets on Sunday for its first ever win over a Full Member team in a T20 international, and followed that up by dismissing Rwanda for 65 then reaching its target in 8.1 overs in Windhoek, Namibia.

‘It is pretty surreal,’ Uganda captain Brian Masaba said.

Uganda have qualified for the Twenty20 Cricket World Cup next year

The African nation have qualified at the expense of Zimbabwe for the tournament

‘I can’t put words to the emotions we are feeling now as a team. It’s massive for Ugandan cricket and huge for African cricket, especially, for a country like Uganda to make it to the World Cup.’

Namibia has also advanced through African qualifying to complete a lineup of teams that also contains Oman, Nepal, Papua New Guinea and Canada. The United States qualifies through being a host country.

Uganda has been an associate member of the ICC since 1998 but does not have test or ODI status.

T20 WORLD CUP 2024 

Host nations: United States, West Indies

Top 8 from 2022 T20 World Cup: Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka

Next two highest-ranked nations: Afghanistan, Bangladesh

Europe Qualifier: Ireland, Scotland

East Asia/Pacific Qualifier: Papua New Guinea

Americas Qualifier: Canada

Asia Qualifier: Nepal, Oman

Africa Qualifier: Namibia, Uganda

Source: Read Full Article