Sri Lanka batsman Angelo Mathews is TIMED OUT at the World Cup

Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews becomes the first batsman ever in international cricket to be TIMED OUT… as he wasn’t ready to face his first ball two minutes after the last fall of wicket

  • He is the first batsman in 146 years of international cricket to be given timed out
  • His helmet broke when he was at the crease and he couldn’t get another in time
  • Angelo Mathews pleaded with the umpires but they upheld Bangladesh’s appeal 

Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews became the first international cricketer in history to be given timed out at the ICC World Cup on Monday.

Mathews, like all batsmen at the tournament, was required to face his first delivery against Bangladesh no more than two minutes after the fall of the last wicket.

ICC rules differ slightly to the MCC’s official laws, which state that the batter must be ready to go within in three minutes instead of two. 

Had the World Cup followed Lord’s rules, Mathews may have been ready to face the next delivery following Sadeera Samarawickrama’s dismissal at 135/4.

However, Bangladeshi fielders saw the batsman was not ready to face Shakib Al Hasan’s next ball within the required two-minute timeframe and thus called for timed out. The decision was ultimately upheld by the on-field umpires.

Angelo Mathews became the first international cricketer ever to be given timed out on Monday

Mathews’ helmet broke in chaotic circumstances and he was unable to secure a new one before his two-minute timeframe ran out. Bangladesh’s appeal was then upheld by the umpires

Mathews, who has now become the first player in 146 years of international cricket to fall to the unique dismissal, was about to face Al Hasan’s next ball when the strap on his helmet broke.

The 35-year-old was subsequently forced to call for another helmet and did not leave enough time for the fielders to find him a replacement.

Mathews appeared to reason with Al Hasan that the delay only happened because of his helmet breaking, but the captain refused to reverse his appeal.

Bangladesh will feel the batsman walked out leisurely and was unaware of the time he was taking ahead of the helmet malfunction.

The cricketer appeared to reason with the umpires and Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan

Source: Read Full Article