Stars out as next gen called on

Australia will turn to generation next with the ball when they take on India this summer, with the two highest-ranked bowlers sidelined for the multi-format series.

Teenage tearaway Stella Campbell has been included in the 18-player squad, with World Cup heroes Megan Schutt and Jess Jonassen not available for selection.

Opening bowler Schutt, who sits in second spot in the ICC ODI bowling chart, made herself unavailable for personal reasons, with the impending birth of her partner’s first child.

Jonassen, the world’s top-ranked ODI bowler, has been ruled out of the tour due to a stress reaction in her lower leg.

Maitlan Brown has been recalled to carry some of the fast-bowling load, with all-rounder Annabel Sutherland also back in after recovering from a stress fracture in her right femur.

“We’re fully supportive of the requests from Belinda and Megan to not be considered for selection and will continue to work with them to ensure they have the appropriate support,” national selector Shawn Flegler said.

World Cup hero Jess Jonassen is injured. Picture: Cameron Spencer/Getty ImagesSource:Getty Images

“As leader of the bowling attack, Megan’s absence will provide the opportunity for someone else to play the type of role she has so well over a lengthy period.

“Jess is another big loss and will be disappointed to miss out, but she’s another one that’s worked hard over the winter, and with a long summer ahead, her focus will be to get herself right with a lot of cricket left in the season.”

Queensland captain Georgia Redmayne has been included after standout seasons in both the WBBL and WNCL last summer. She starred for the Brisbane Heat before captaining Queensland to their maiden title, scoring three 50-over centuries along the way.

Starting on September 19, Australia will take on India in three ODIs, one Test and three T20Is.

It will be the first meeting between the teams since the 2020 T20 World Cup final when 86,174 people watched Australian captain Meg Lanning’s team claim their fifth title.


Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Darcie Brown, Maitlan Brown, Stella Campbell, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Georgia Redmayne, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham


Sep 19: First ODI, North Sydney Oval (D/N)

Sep 22: Second ODI, Junction Oval

Sep 24: Third ODI, Junction Oval

Sep 30 – Oct 3: Test match, WACA Ground (D/N)

Oct 7: First T20, North Sydney Oval

Oct 9: Second T20, North Sydney Oval

Oct 11: Third T20, North Sydney Oval

Source: Read Full Article